Meal Plan Monday: May 28

This is my first attempt at meal planning since we’ve switched our diet over, and it was HARD to come up with meals that sounded good to all of us and fit within our tiny budget. BUT I think we did it! We’re sort of taking a trip around the world, now that I look at my list. American, Mexican, Indian, Chinese, Italian…

For budget’s sake, we split our plan into two halves and went to Trader Joe’s to purchase the first half today. Hopefully these groceries will feed us through Wednesday night, and then I’ll go back when I have more money on Thursday!

DINNERS:

Monday: Organic Beef Hamburgers
Tonight we are having a meat dinner — I found some organic, grass fed, super delicious looking ground beef at Trader Joe’s for grilling and I’m going to make some kind of sauce for a topping. We got some whole wheat buns, too. I’m also going to roast some french fries in the oven and we’ll have salad with farmer’s market lettuce, strawberries, cucumber, pecans and an vinaigrette. I couldn’t get the salad from yesterday out of my mind!

Tuesday: Potato Tacos (tacos de papa)
I plan to prepare the potatoes with some kale, a little oil and seasonings and then top them with tomato, red peppers and avocado sauce pureed with lime and cilantro in the blender. I have never been a fan of dry tacos and our go-to topping was sour cream, so we have to play around a little bit. I’ll serve tortilla chips and salsa alongside.

Wednesday: Indian Pizzas
I am going to top naan with masala sauce, kale and cashews, bake it off and cut it into triangles. It’s similar to a personal sized flat bread pizza. We’ve had this a few times with chicken, so I’m going to just increase the kale and cashews. I’ll make brown basmati rice with peas and some mild spices to go alongside. We’ll probably end up just spooning it on top and eating them loaded up. I am thinking about making a mango/pineapple smoothie or slushie to drink with this meal. It’s been so hot out, that sounds fantastic.

Thursday: Asian Fried Noodles
Using this recipe as a guide, I’m going to make a soy and ginger sauce and fill the dish with mushrooms, green onions, peas, carrots, peppers, and sprouts. It should be very similar to the fried rice I made over the weekend, but with noodles. I’ll heat up the rest of our spring rolls, too.

Friday: Crispy Gnocchi with basil pesto
I will make this recipe as is, including the parm, but using blanched almonds instead of pine nuts in the pesto because I already have some on hand. This will be our second meat/dairy inclusive meal this week. I’m going to prepare a salad of nuts, greens and dried fruit to go with this. I am really looking forward to trying gnocchi prepared this way. It’ll be our first time!

Saturday: Lentil Vegetable Soup
I think it’s way too hot for soup this time of year, but Gerry loves it more than anything, so I’m going to try to make this version with the addition of some lentils. We’ll have some whole grain bread, too.

Sunday: Veggie Burgers
Either this mushroom and pecan recipe OR marinated portobello caps. We’ll have broccoli slaw, chips and watermelon, too.

LUNCHES:

The boys lunches will continue to be “grazing” plates that include 1 item from brown, orange and blue and 2 items from green. That combination just seems to work best for them.

  • Peanut Butter
  • Hummus
  • Various kinds of beans
  • Pretzels
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Whole grain bread
  • salsa
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • grapes
  • apples
  • strawberries
  • bananas
  • celery
  • mixed nuts
  • raisins
  • olives
  • pickles

Gerry will probably pack similar lunches and trail mix for snacking on throughout the day. He eats a lot, and if he’s riding his bike, he’ll be eating even more, so it could be tricky. I have not quite figured out what I’ll be having for lunch, but plan on starting with some peanut butter and jelly tomorrow!

Breakfast is smoothies and whatever else we find to fix up!

3 responses to “Meal Plan Monday: May 28

  1. Pingback: Day 4: Relaxing and Shopping | Wholeing Up·

  2. Asian fried noodles sound good! :) All this talk about Kale… I’ve never tried it. I’m scared. I don’t like spinach…is it anything like that?

    • It is similar. It’s a little tougher and most people cook it before eating. When I make it, I chop it very tiny so the texture doesn’t mess with me and I generally use it with stronger flavors as opposed to mild flavors. I guess I’m saying I have no idea what it tastes like but I have used it a lot!

Leave a Reply

