Day 6: Grocery + Stutter Stepping.

Today was one of those days where I just kept stutter-stepping through each hour, hoping I was doing what I was supposed to but somehow feeling like I was missing the mark.

That’s kind of my normal Wednesday.

I woke up early so I could go to the grocery to replenish our lunch food supply and couldn’t find our bank card. So I had to wait for Gerry to get ready and he (bless his heart) went to the bank and got me money and brought it back before he went to work.

Then the boys and I had our breakfasts and got dressed and headed to Meijer. I had a simple list that included toilet paper and managed to buy everything BUT toilet paper by the time I got to check out. The boys maintained their angelic behavior as I went all the way to the back of the store for that item of utmost importance, and then I rewarded them with a super expensive treat.

A ride for each on the penny horse! They love it! I love it! Winner winner!

I spent another $50 on food today and managed to buy items for 2 dinners and what I’m hoping is 4 lunches and breakfasts. I am having trouble gauging how much food we’ll eat now that meat isn’t part of the equation. For example, one red pepper is NOT enough for 3 lunches. Multiple trips for fresh produce each week are going to have to be the norm. I plan to make at least one of them a trip to the local farmers market.

There was no comparison. YUM.

I also decided to pick up 3 “new to me” protein sources that were on sale. I got all three for less than $6: organic tempeh,  sprouted tofu, and lentils. I wanted red or green lentils but couldn’t find them!

My goal is to use the lentils in our vegetable soup, figure out something yummy to do with the tempeh (i’ve heard it’s got a great texture and is super versatile), and make something for Gerry in the next couple weeks with the tofu. I don’t want to eat soy all that often but I do want to know there are options when we want to mix it up.

I had a good back and forth conversation today with a pregnant friend of mine who I’m going to go ahead and call a “bee-gan,” and she helped me a lot with my fears about not getting enough protein. She doesn’t like beans either and they don’t eat soy, so she is creative when planning her meals.

I’ll just share part of her message verbatim:

We also love avocado for complete protein — it’s the exception. You could live on avocado and water alone. The only lacking nutrient is b12. If you add it to smoothies as well, you will up your protein and it makes them creamy. I don’t like beans either, or rather they don’t like me!  We love using lentils of all colors, quinoa, oats, brown and wild rice and if you use organic spelt or kamut rather than wheat products your protein quality will be higher…

…we enjoy nutritional yeast which has 9 grams of protein per serving (3 tablespoons) and contains tons of great vitamins especially b complex and b 12. Tahini, sesame seed butter, is great as well. We add it to all kinds of dips, sauces, dressings, and in bean free hummus. Other seeds such as pumpkin and sunflower are fantastic sources of protein and really great for other things we need especially as pregnant women.

She also recommended green juice or smoothies in the morning to kick-start the day, which made me want a juicer in the WORST WAY. And she brought up some interesting points about the digestibility of protein in meat vs. plants (it’s harder to digest meat.) I think she’s touched base on that in her blog, Fruit and Veggie Tales.

She’s always ready for a conversation about nutrition and healthy living, so I’ll probably be talking to her again in the very near future!

The four of us ended up eating lunch out again because I took so long at the store that there wasn’t time for me to prepare anything to take Gerry before his lunch break. We tried the local casual sushi place, Fusian. It was the boys’ first time there, and Gerry’s first time trying the tofu (spicy + more expensive than meat!). The kiddos couldn’t figure out how to eat their wraps, but Gerry and I both thought our meals were delicious. And we all had the complementary cucumber water which was incredibly refreshing.

Only problem was Gerry and I were both hungry by mid-afternoon. We felt full when we were done… but it just didn’t hold up for very long. I had to eat a sandwich by 3.

Thankfully, tonight’s dinner was incredibly easy and delicious. I sauteed kale, spinach and cashews in a masala sauce, then added some cilantro and raisins and spread it on naan to make individual Indian-inspired pizzas. We topped them with cucumber and tomatoes after they were done baking and all of us thought they were tasty and filling. There is half a pizza still waiting to be eaten on the stove. But I don’t think we’re going to get to it tonight.

I want some popcorn instead. 🙂

Food Journal:

Gerry —
20 oz. smoothie of pineapple, mango, raspberry, spinach, almond milk and honey.
vegetable sushi roll with seaweed, rice, tofu, avocado, carrots, cucumber, asparagus, cauliflower, jalapeno, scallions.
V8
1-1/2 indian pizzas: naan, masala sauce, raisins, kale, spinach, cashew, coconut milk, cucumber and tomato
watermelon, banana

Erinne —
20 oz. smoothie of pineapple, mango, raspberry, spinach, almond milk and honey.
vegetable sushi roll with seaweed, rice, avocado, cauliflower, cucumber, carrots, water.
1 slice whole grain bread with 2 T peanut butter and jelly (way too much pb for one slice of bread!)
1 indian pizza: naan, masala sauce, raisins, kale, spinach, cashew, coconut milk, cucumber and tomato
watermelon, grapes

Shepherd —
2 oatmeal pancakes, honey and grape juice (he didn’t like the new almond milk, gotta switch it back.)
1 bite of sushi roll. not a fan.
1 whole grain peanut butter sandwich, grapes, carrots, peas.
1/4 serving organic cheese puffs.
pickles, banana, watermelon.
1/4 indian pizza: naan, cashews, raisins, masala sauce

Archie —
1 oatmeal pancake, almond granola, mango-pear puree, water.
sushi roll with soy wrap, tofu, carrots, asparagus, cucumber, rice.
strawberries, peas, grape juice.
1/4 serving organic cheese puffs.
sweet potato and apple sauce puree.
banana, watermelon
1/2 indian pizza: naan, masala sauce, raisins, kale, spinach, cashew, coconut milk, cucumber and tomato

Leave a Reply

