Days 9 + 10: Baking Bread + a Surprise

Yesterday was a day of grazing. Everyone ate pretty much the same thing, lots of chopped up vegetables and a black bean dip I made in the blender. It was a productive day, too, but after I did all our grocery shopping, I could barely move! So we decided to go ahead and order a thin crust pizza with light cheese and onions, olives and tomatoes for Gerry and Archie.

I fixed a big salad to go alongside it and made the coconut ranch dressing again. It felt very treat-like :). By cutting meat and cheese out for the most part, we can get more joy from the times we eat it!

Ah, we had another meat night tonight. It doesn’t feel so bad when we eat well all day most days of the week because the ratio of pounds of fruits, veggies and grains to meat and dairy is something like 20:1. We did go with the high quality burger and are continuing to absolutely cut out fast food joints altogether :).

Biggest surprise of the day was showing up at my mother-in-law’s house to find her, my mama, my best friend, my sister in law, and a few other friends there for my BABY SPRINKLE. (A sprinkle is a mini-shower for women like me who have had 3 babies in 4 years, wink.)

I think it is the first time I have ever been surprised like that, and I noticed there was a definite effort to accommodate our diet in the food spread they all prepared. Super touching.

My best friend made vegetable wraps with hummus, my mom made lemon curd tarts with raspberries, and there were fruit skewers and veggies and nut crackers and just a great spread of tasty snacks for our family to munch on while we celebrated. It was a wonderful time and we were very blessed by the love and time given to make Ollie’s life even better!

Ooh, and it was a “tea.” I had hot tea in a tea cup resting on a saucer like a proper lady. It’s a good thing I was wearing a skirt 🙂

Food Journal:

Gerry —
1/2 whole grain bagel, OJ with calcium
Spinach wrap with celery, avocado, cilantro, green onions, hummus and mushrooms (note to self: does NOT like raw mushrooms!), whole grain crackers, raisins.
Homemade oatmeal bread.
Party food: veggie wrap, cream puff, fruit skewer, half a mango cupcake, nut thins, cashews.
Small hamburger, lettuce, mushrooms, mustard, onions, green peppers, french fries, fruit salad.
Decaf coffee

Erinne —
OJ with calcium, whole grain bagel, hot tea.
Guacamole and tortilla chips, grapes.
Homemade oatmeal bread.
Party food: veggie wrap, fruit skewer, half a mango cupcake, cashews, cucumbers, raspberries.
Small hamburger, lettuce, tomato, ketchup, french fries, fruit salad.
Apple.
Decaf coffee.

Archie —
2 pancakes, 1 banana, 1 apple, orange juice with calcium.
Celery, peanut butter, raisins, pretzels and grapes.
Homemade oatmeal bread.
Raspberries, fruit skewers, nut thins.
1/2 small hamburger, pickles, ketchup, french fries.

Shep —
Whole grain bagel with coconut butter, 1 pancake, orange juice with calcium.
Celery, peanut butter, raisins, pretzels and grapes.
Homemade oatmeal bread.
mini cupcake, fruit skewer, triangle of turkey sandwich, cucumbers, nut thins.
1/2 small hamburger, french fries, tomatoes, lettuce, pickles, ketchup, fruit salad.
peanuts.

Today, I fired up the bread machine for the first time in a couple months. I made oatmeal bread before church, and the boys and Gerry liked it so much it was pretty much gone by bedtime. So I made a 7 grain bread after the boys were asleep that we can have for breakfast tomorrow with some pb and our smoothies! I love the smell of freshly baked bread and I love how easy the bread machine is to use 🙂

Leave a Reply

