I don’t have any coherent thoughts right now. GUT CHECK.

Hahahahaha.

Did you guys hear that? That’s the sound of laughter that follows everytime I try to stick to a vegan meal plan at lunch.

I just. can’t. do it. every day.

The more I read, the less convinced I am that it’s necessary to completely and totally exclude all milk and meat from our diet.

Have you heard about the latest trend circling around?

No, not paleo. That’s so last spring. Gosh 😉

Fermented food.

Not just a way to make use of stuff past its prime. It’s all the rage. Pickling things, I think? Sort of. I am not sure.

Obviously I don’t have much time for researching diets, much less blogging about them…

but what I read in a magazine last week had a lot to say about the value of probiotics. Especially when it comes to keeping the immune system working well. The list of foods to choose from included yogurt, kefir and tempeh. Milk, milk and soy.

I don’t like to eat a lot of soy, and I still like the taste of milk, so I bought some yogurt.

First time in a while I’ve bought anything other than butter and the occasional cream for a few recipes here and there.

I haven’t opened it.

But I’m expecting miracles.

I have a cold.

Once I eat some yogurt, I won’t.

Right?

Right?!

The biggest surprise of this all has been my husband.

He used to eat hunks of cheese.

All the time.

A chunk in each hand.

And he LOVED it.

He tried giving up meat for a month during Lent and could barely survive a meat-free lunch.

Now? NOW!? I ask if he wants pizza for dinner and he orders his half without cheese.

and LOVES it.

I, on the other hand, who rarely ate cheese except for fettucine alfredo and pizza (which wasn’t my favorite) want it ALL THE TIME.

I have turned into a mental cheesehead.

But I feel so, so, so gross the next morning. So I always resolve not to eat it anymore.

But then I do.

So far, the best solution I’ve found is cutting the cheese in recipes by about 80% or only putting it on top of baked dishes instead of inside.

We go light on the cheese on pizza.

We don’t mix cheese with meat. For some reason that helps the yuckiness.

Oh, I have been having real milk in my coffee, too.

When faced with the choice of soy, almond, chemical creamer or cream/milk, I go with the real stuff. I only have my coffee a couple times a week.

And it’s so, so good for my soul.

Almond milk doesn’t even touch anywhere near my soul.

I’ve cooked meat at home twice since Ollie was born 11 weeks ago.

I made salmon once. I hated it. My husband was in Heaven, though.

I was happy he had that moment.

I made a delicious grilled chicken with pasta. We all split a 1/3 lb. breast piece. It was plenty.

It was freezing Saturday night (YAY FALL!!), so I bought some really high quality ground round from EarthFare and made my chili just the way I like it.

Soooo good after going so long without it.

I think one of the biggest perks of trying to stick to this diet is how good certain things taste after months of going without them.

Leave a Reply

